Call us now on: International +442070303455

Lines open 24/7, Clinic Open Monday - Friday: 8.00 am - 6.00 pm
CONTACT US

Bariatric Patients Reviews

Treatment Advisor

Share your reviews/testimonials here.

 

Gastric Sleeve Patient Testimonials/ Reviews

 

gastric sleeve weight loss surgery before and after JB

16/08/2014

“I had my Sleeve Gastrectomy (Gastric Sleeve Weight Loss Surgery) under Mr Efthimiou in February 2011. I’m happy with the results though at the time of my recovery, I went through a difficult phase with complications post surgery. Even though, the complication odds were very small, about  2:100 (2%). I was fully informed of the slim chance of this happening at the time of the consultation with Mr. E.

I could not have been under a better Bariatric Consultant,  with the added challenges that we both faced post surgery. Mr Efthimiou not only treated the complications that I had, but treated me as a whole person. When I needed someone to talk to about how I was coping with the prolonged hospital stay ahead of me, he arranged for one of the team to talk to me and support me in the long road ahead.

Mr E has a great understanding and compassion for his patients, and personally I could not have had a better Weight Loss Surgeon and team looking after me.. would I do this again knowing the difficulties that I had experienced … YES!!!  As it has  changed my life in so many ways, giving me the confidence to do things, that before I would never have thought about.”

A big Thank you to MR E., and you know where I am, if you ever need me to talk to others about my Sleeve Gastrectomy.

 

J.B

Patient J.B’s Qs and As:

1. Why did you decide to have the sleeve gastrectomy (gastric sleeve) surgery?

I have struggled most of my life with my weight, more so after the loss of my son, when I was very often feeling empty, alone, and  put down all the time by peers and siblings, but most of all I wanted to be rid of the baggy belly that I have since being pregnant with my son. The  final decision to have the sleeve gastrectomy amongst other weight loss surgeries, was made after finding that I was not suited for the gastric band.

2. Did you try to diet and exercise before deciding to have weight loss surgery?

I was a Yo-Yo Dieter and tried many weight loss diets and programs: Weight watchers, Slimmer’s world, Herbalife, Diet chef, and even took a course medications under the supervision of my GP. Exercise was almost impossible especially with the Apron, the excess skin around my abdomen… except for swimming. But even now after my weight loss, I am afraid that I won’t go swimming until the Apron is gone as well. I am eagerly waiting to have my body contouring surgery.

3. When did you have the sleeve gastrectomy (gastric sleeve) surgery?

February 2011.

4. How much did you weigh at your heaviest?

At my heaviest I was 115 Kgs or 18 Stones. Currently, I weigh 80 Kgs or 12 Stones and 8 lbs. I am currently aiming to  reduce this a bit more with careful monitoring.. I did  drop to 74 Kgs or 11 Stones and 9 Lbs when very ill …

5. How much weight did you lose so far?

To date so far I have lost  35 Kgs or 5 Stones and 7 lbs and I have another 5 Kgs or 11 lbs to go, even a small amount I know it will not always easy.

6. How has your life changed after the sleeve gastrectomy (gastric sleeve) weight loss surgery?

My life has changed in many ways  and will change more once I have the body contouring plastic surgery that I have  fought long and hard to achieve. Once I have removed the excess skin around my abdomen, my life will change for evermore in a positive direction.

My health has improved in a many aspects since the weight loss surgery. Before the surgery, I was a type 2 Diabetic on medication, and suffered from high blood pressure and sleep apnea. But now post surgery and my successful weight loss, my diabetes is controlled through diet only and the high blood pressure and sleep apnea are gone.   

7. What was the hardest part of having the sleeve gastrectomy (gastric sleeve) weight loss surgery?

Realizing that the gastric sleeve is a tool to help me lose weight and that I had to learn to manage what I eat first and foremost. During the first year, my diet was easier to control since I didn’t eat much due to the complications post op. Once I returned to a normal diet and lifestyle, I still needed to monitor what I ate since it is always possible to regain the fat loss.

8. Any regrets having the sleeve gastrectomy (gastric sleeve) weight loss surgery?

None at all about the gastric sleeve itself! But only that I should have looked in to undergoing weight loss surgery many years ago, as it has been a buzz and still is when I go and  buy clothing off the Rack…

 9. From you experience what advice can you give to future patients on how to reach their weight loss goals?

GO for It!!! But do follow any advice given by Mr. E. and his team.  I know rules are made to be broken and I have broken a number of them. Some rules I have learnt to keep the hard way whilst other times I had taken notice of the advice given.  I’m more than happy to talk to any one about my experience that MR E. wishes...

Gastric Bypass Patient Testimonials/ Reviews

 

Gastric Bypass - 31/01/2014 - 2 years Post Surgery. Lost 56kgs - 123 lbs

Gastric Bypass Before and After 2

05/03/2014

“Dear. Mr. Efthimiou,

Firstly I would like to thank you yet again for changing my life, these last two years since my gastric bypass operation which, took place on the 31st January 2011 has been challenging to say the least. It hasn’t been easy but I am a new and healthier person, from weighing the most heaviest 117kg to my current weight to date 61kg which, goes up and down but closely monitored by me with thanks to you and your teams full support. If you should ever need me for any support for any of your future patients please do not hesitate to contact me. “

Z.K.

“Making the decision to have weight loss surgery (Laparoscopic Roux-en-Y Gastric Bypass) was one of the most difficult decisions I have ever made. Being referred to Mr Evangelos Efthimiou at Chelsea and Westminster Hospital for the surgery made it the best decision I could have made.

I particularly appreciated Mr Efthimiou’s honesty and frankness with regard to what the surgery could do for me and also what risks there might be.

I have type 2 diabetes and arthritis in several joints, both of which were not helped by me being overweight. Since the surgery I no longer need any medication for my diabetes and have managed to reduce the amount of pain relief I need for the arthritis too.

It is 15 months since the operation and I am in the best shape both physically and mentally that I have been for many years. The surgery has not only increased my prospective life span but has given me a much better one.

I am so grateful to Mr Efthimiou and his team for making both the surgery and post-operative care such a positive experience and my only regret is that I did not have the surgery sooner.”

S.O.

“I had some trepidation but in fact the operation went rather well and the pain was very tolerable. Literally weeks after the gastric bypass surgery I noticed the weight loss. I would strongly recommend this surgery to anyone who is obese or overweight, as I felt that having it done has totally changed my life for the better. I feel a lot more confident and healthier within myself.

This operation has changed my life and I can’t thank Mr Efthimiou enough.”

A.B.

“I cannot emphasise enough how much my gastric bypass operation has changed my life. It is not the operation itself, or, in fact, the extent and speed of the weight loss. It is the fact that from my very first appointment with Mr Efthimiou and his team, I have felt that I am part of a highly experienced, incredibly supportive team. Their approach to treatment is incredibly cohesive. Everything was explained clearly and no question was too inconvenient or mundane.

Mr Efthimiou is a fantastic surgeon who is not only highly skilled in explaining the process, but in making sure the patient has the necessary knowledge to make the informed choices and thus gain the most from their surgery. I know that the surgery was not end of the process, but the beginning of a much longer journey. It is one that I feel will be successful for me as I will be guided on the way by such an exceptional team of people.”

S.C.

Gastric Band Patient Testimonials/Reviews

 

Patient J.R’s Qs and As:

1. Why did you decide to have a gastric band weight loss surgery?

I spent the whole of my life being fat. I struggled my whole life with being overweight. 

2. Did you try to diet and exercise before deciding to have weight loss surgery?

I spent all my life yo-yo dieting on every single diet on planet earth: Atkins Diet, Weight Watchers, Cambridge Diet, Slimmers’ World, Slimmers’ Aid, The Micro-diet, and never once managed to keep the weight off. I exercised until the cows came come. I took slimming pills. I could write a book on it!

3. When did you have the gastric band weight loss surgery?

I had the gastric band in December 2010, two weeks before Christmas.

4. How much did you weigh at your heaviest?

I used to weigh 16 stones on a petite Italian frame. 

5. How much weight did you lose so far?

To date, with hard work and exercise I have lost just under 8 stones! I look and feel great!

6. How has your life changed after the gastric band weight loss surgery?

My life has changed in a way, I find it hard to describe. I feel normal. I don’t get any of the negative feelings I use to have about myself. I can go into a shop and try on anything and fit into it. I have learned to love and appreciate food, quality rather than quantity in my new motto!

7. What was the hardest part of having the gastric band weight loss surgery?

Actually realizing that the band was a tool to help me lose weight and not a magic button that I was going to be 8 stones lighter overnight. For the first 6 months, I only lost about a stone which was demoralizing and I started to feel depressed. Until, a friend advised me to exercise and get a personal trainer. This was without a doubt a life changing decision which has transformed my life by finally losing 8 stones.

8. Any regrets having the gastric band weight loss surgery?

That I didn’t have the gastric band 20 years ago. It was of saved 2 decades of misery!

9. From you experience what advice can you give to future patients on how to reach their weight loss goals?

Go for it! I can absolutely guarantee it will be the best thing you will ever do in your life. Support is everything and do not only count on the gastric band. Get a dietitian,  get a personal trainer and stick with it! The results will come, you need to believe. I did it! You can do it! I am more than happy to talk to you and meet you to share my story and to help to give you the reassurance you may need.

J. R. 

Gastric Balloon Patient Testimonials/ Reviews

 

Spatz Gastric Balloon Before Day of Procedure Spatz Gastric Balloon After 32 Weeks Post

The pictures are courtesy of Spatz FGIA Inc., an established US-based medical device company focused on the treatment of obesity.

“I have lost 41 kg over 12 months with the Spatz balloon. Here is my story:

Weight loss has always been a challenge for me. I have tried it all. You know what I’m talking about – diet, exercise and pills. It either doesn’t work or it doesn’t last. Even if I followed the diet carefully – it was so difficult, and eventually I failed.

I knew that I needed help in controlling my appetite – but diet pills don’t work so well. When I heard about the success of balloons, I was very interested to see if it would work for me.

They were testing a new adjustable balloon at the university hospital near my home. My doctor suggested that I try it.

The first few days weren’t as bad as I expected. There was nausea and vomiting, but I managed to get through it. After that, it was much better. My appetite was reduced and I lost weight steadily. After about 4 1/2 months my appetite started to come back. My doctor recommended adding more fluid to the balloon. I went back to the hospital for a quick procedure. Since then I lost another 15 kg.

My life has changed. I am so happy with the results so far. I feel so proud when my friends tell me that I look great. My clothing became so loose that I had to go out and buy all new stuff. Most important of all, I feel great.”

3 year follow up: “I am doing great. I lost another 7 kg since my balloon was removed. That 1 year of balloon treatment really helped me change my eating habits.”

 B.M, 22 years old. 


Spatz Gastric Balloon Before
Spatz Gastric Balloon After

 

The pictures are courtesy of Spatz FGIA Inc., an established US-based medical device company focused on the treatment of obesity.

I lost 45 kg at 52 weeks with the Spatz balloon.

I know of people who have used other balloons for weight loss. After a few months their appetites increased again, and they did not lose as much weight as at the beginning. My Doctor added some more fluid to my balloon at 4 months, when my appetite started to increase. I then lost another 23 kg over the next 8 months.

I am happy that my balloon stayed in for 12 months, which gave me more time to lose weight and more time with my dietician.”

3 year follow up: “After 3 years I have been able to keep my weight off. I only regained 5 kg since the balloon was removed, because I feel like a new person. I am not going back.”

Mrs. Sperlove, 29 years old.

If you found this info useful please share it below

Comments (2)

Add a comment
  1. July 17, 2014

    Dear Sir / Madam
    Hope you in the best of health, i am a 26 year old guy from
    Pakistan,my weight is 134 kg and my BMI is 49.i am an obsessive.i try my best to loss the weight but my intake is too much so due to it. its quite difficult for me to control..Due to my obesity my life is full of problems.i found your source on the Internet. Please inform me which kind of surgery is suitable for me and what would be the cost,i am not diabetic and not high blood pressure patient.
    Thanks
    Regards
    Qasim Ahmed

    Reply
    • July 20, 2014

      Dear Mr. Ahmed,

      Thank you for your comment. For your privacy, we have sent an answer directly to your email address.

      Kind regards,

      Harley Street Bariatrics Team

      Reply

Add a comment

Would like to ask questions?

Email your questions, call us or simply book a consultation to discuss your weight loss treatment options.


+442070303455

...or fill in the form on our Inquiry page:

CONTACT US

Meet the Specialists

We have hand picked a team of international world renowned surgeons, dietitians, nutritionists, fitness trainers, psychotherapist and other weight loss specialists to create new, tailored and innovative weight loss programs:

MORE ABOUT US